Six 2011 NFXF Summer Student Fellowship awards of $2,500 each were recently awarded to deserving students.

Since the late 1990’s the NFXF Student Fellowships awards have benefited approximately 75 young scientists to the tune of nearly $200,000.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Zaynah Sadiq – Stanford University School of Medicine
    Quality of life as an outcome of developmental trajectories in Fragile X during the transition from adolescence to adulthood
  • Michelle Frazer – University of Michigan
    Correction of behavioral phenotypes in FXTAS model mice
  • Cynthia Chen – Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Structural basis for the recognition of RNA by the Fragile X Mental Retardation Protein, FMRP
  • Scott Danielson – Emory University School of Medicine
    Targeting excess PI3K signaling to rescue dendritic spine morphology in a FXS mouse model
  • Annie Pally – University of Houston
    FMRP regulation of the central mevalonate pathway in a Fragile X mouse model
  • Emily Liang – Stanford University
    Evaluating FreeSurfer as an analysis tool for longitudinal structural MRI in young adults with FXS